The property that is today Henkel Square Market, has been known as “Henkel Square” since Charles L. And Faith P. Bybee, Houston philanthropists and collectors of American and Texas Pioneer antiques, purchased the 6-acre parcel in the late 1960’s. Since the 1800’s, it was both a residential and commercial area. Numerous pictures exist that show the Square as the commercial/residential center in Round Top life.
The Bybee’s saved German immigrant structures from Round Top and the surrounding areas, establishing a Museum Village under the stewardship of their Texas Pioneer Arts Foundation.
The cabins and houses on the property are original to the Round Top area. Three of the houses are original to the property… Henkel House (Royers Pie Haven, Von Rosenberg House (Copper Shade Tree) and The Apothecary (Indian Creek). Look for the three massive live oak trees, at the base of the these trees are the three houses mentioned. The other cabins were moved to the property in the late 1960’s. Henkel Hall building was built in 2013 and the Teagues Tavern building was built in 2016.
In 2010, MLD Holdings, LLC of Houston acquired the property and its historic structures. Today, Henkel Square has been revived by its new owners; its buildings saved once again. The entrepreneurial spirit of Texas’ earliest German pioneers seems to have revived as well, with a host of retail and commercial enterprises calling this beautiful part of Round Top home.
We invite you to take a walk through this historic village to enjoy the history and the premier shopping experience.